Furry Essentials

Joann giving her signature Eskimo kiss!

Our Beagle Minnie’s groomer Furry Essentials won the 2012 Best of Worcester Reader Poll  in the pet groomer category!

I’m sad to say that I didn’t even know about this poll because I don’t actually subscribe to a print newspaper and found out about it on Facebook this afternoon, but I’m psyched for them and they deserve it.

Joann treats Minnie like a princess. Joann loves to get right down onto the floor to greet Minnie when we walk through the door. Minnie’s typical response is to get all submissive and roll over onto her side letting that fat round belly of hers hang all out in all its glory.  After much cooing and fussing, we chat for a while and I always know I’m leaving Minnie in excellent hands.

We’ve been taking Minnie to Furry Essentials for over five years. At first it was Joann and June, our dynamic duo.  But then June moved down South and Joann’s daughter-in-law Michelle starting working there and I loved her instantly.  We became Facebook friends and she was introduced to my love of Hello Kitty.  She started texting me  pictures of Hello Kitty stuff she’d see in stores which eventually morphed into buying me little Hello Kitty presents.  Now every appointment begins with her busting out some amazing little toy or trinket to give to me.    Sometimes she’ll text me a picture she’s taken of Minnie in a doggie dress which cracks me up because Minnie is SO not that kind of dog, but she endures it with her usual Zen-like calmness knowing this too shall pass.

When it’s time to pick Minnie up, Joann also has this nice little touch that she does with the invoice that I really love:  she attaches a little personalized note telling me how Minnie behaved during her visit.  She’d write things like “I was such a princess” or ” Five Paw Star” and I grew to look forward to seeing what phrase she’d come up with next to describe Minnie’s very ordinary behavior.  (Trust me, I know I’m lucky that Minnie isn’t the sort of dog that would tear things up while in the care of somebody else.  She’s more the kind of dog who is content to stay in one spot and nap hard.)

I was so happy for them when they were able to expand their business by moving to their new location. The shop is beautiful and taking Minnie there feels like she’s going to Doggy Daycare because she gets to be surrounded with all the other dogs that have their grooming appointments.  I swear they should charge admission just so people can walk into their work area, sit down on the clean floor and be instantly surrounded by 5-10 dogs of various sizes and natures.  It’s instant love, adoration and a guaranteed drop in blood pressure.

You should see Minnie when she’s with the other doggies and there is a treat to be had.  She definitely embraces that whole ‘survival of the fittest’ mentality and will do just about anything to wiggle her way closest to Joann’s hand to be in first place for a Scooby snack. She doesn’t believe in missed opportunities and she’s got the grand belly to show for it.

If you’re looking for a groomer that will treat your dog like it’s their own, then by all means visit Furry Essentials.  They’ve been my best kept secret for years.

(If you’re interested in the other winners of the 2012 Best of Worcester Reader Poll, you can check them out  here.)

Leave a Reply

