Google Voice

I was lucky enough to snag an invite to Google Voice about two months ago.  I signed up and linked my cell phone number to my Google Voice account so that any messages left on my cell would be transcribed and emailed to me from Google.  Not only does it transcribe the message, there’s also a nifty little play button so I can actually hear the message as well.  Good thing they added this feature because Google Voice didn’t do such a good job with my first voice mail:


“Hey Kimma, It’s Barry it’s yes, good morning. It’s about 20 Bates and let you know i’m money. Heylate patio, so if you don’t wanna wait some coffee. We’ll meet that’s fine of the couple of years. Reallybefore 8:30, but but he completely my, my mother was because of the hospital buzz that those are.Ohh til about o’clock this morning but so If, a, you don’t wanna leave that’s okay. I’ll see you bye. “


Essentially the voice mail should have said this:


Hi Kim, it’s Patty.  It’s umm Thursday morning, about twenty to eight and I just wanted to let you know I’m running late late today. Umm…so if you don’t want to wait for coffee for me that’s fine. I’ll probably be in before 8:30 (yawn)…I was up pretty late. My mother was taken to the hospital last night. I was up till about 2 o’clock this morning.But ummm like I said, if you don’t want to wait, that’s OK.  I’ll see ya. Bye.


Needless to say, Google Voice did a pretty poor job translating my voice mail, but Patty and I got a really good laugh over it.


And now I call my friend Barry as a joke instead of her real name.  Thanks Google Voice.

Leave a Reply

