Be Still…My Beating Heart

Christmas was pretty great this year.  My sister-in-law Katie gifted me some incredibly thoughtful stuff like a fancy stylus for my iTouch because I have fat fingers, a Bubble Wrap 2009 Calendar, the complete Little Britain series on DVD and my favorite gift of all – My Beating Heart .

It’s a small fuzzy pillow in the shape of a heart and it has a tiny computer inside that mimics a beating heart.  You turn on the pillow and it beats for 20 minutes and then shuts itself off.  Every time you turn on the pillow, a different heart rhythm occurs.  It’s suggested that if you hold the pillow close to your own heart it will start keeping pace with the pillow artificial beat.

I’ve used it a few times and it’s the most astonishing thing – it actually relaxes me.  I find myself focusing on the vibration of the beating heart and before I know it, I’m out like a light.  Complete relaxation.

I’m on vacation next week so I plan to do my share of heavy afternoon napping.  You can bet this lovely pillow will be cuddled up against me along with Spencer and the fat beagle, of course.

I can’t recommend this pillow enough. Valentine’s Day is only a few short months away and I think this would be the perfect gift.  Screw the box of chocolates.  Give me this pillow and a package of 9-volt batteries and I’ll love you forever.

Leave a Reply

