Trail of Terror

I deleted the recent Emmys from my DVR so Karen and I had to come up with something else to do on a Friday night in early October.  I didn’t really want to see a movie on a date night so instead I did some digging around and found The Trail of Terror in Wallingford, CT – about 1-1/2 hours away from Worcester.

It looked pretty fun – walking around outside at night getting the bejeezus scared out of us for a mere $10 admission which goes to benefit The American Red Cross.  In fact, they also offered a ‘speed pass’ for an extra ten bucks that would get us in much quicker.  I called Karen, we agreed on the plan and I placed my order online for (2) speed pass tickets for the 9-10pm time slot.

I told Karen that we should plan to leave Worcester around 7pm which would allow for 1/2  hour wiggle room in case we got lost driving to CT.  We left her house a little after 7pm and hit the road.

It was totally  my fault that I took the Mass Pike via Route 495 rather than picking it up much closer near the Auburn/Oxford area.  I simply wasn’t thinking.  Nor was I expecting that traffic would be so unbelievably BAD that night!  The Pike was crawling…bumper to bumper traffic..and that’s when it hit me: Columbus Day Weekend.  Grrrreeeeaaaaattttt.

We were supposed to get off the Pike on I-84, but after spending nearly two hours on the pike stuck in hellish traffic and the clock ticking away we simply gave up because there was no way that we’d get to CT in time for our 9pm reservation.  I was so pissed off.  It just never crossed my mind that traffic would be so heavy.

In the end we took the next exit off the Pike which landed us in the Palmer/Brimfield area and we drove a whole bunch of back roads until we got back into town.

I put approx. 200 miles on the car and never once got the bejeezus scared out of me.  I went onto the site on Saturday to see if I could change my tickets to another date, but no such luck.  We were out $44, but at least the Red Cross got some bucks.

Lesson learned – don’t buy tickets on a whim without thinking through the traffic situation on a Friday night.

One thought on “Trail of Terror

Leave a Reply

