Chocolate Skittles

Revealed at the 2007 All Candy Expo is this disaster to the left-Chocolate flavored Skittles.

I am a big fan of Skittles-sour being my favorite aside from the classic flavors-but they have simply gone too far this time by introducing these flavors: S’mores, Chocolate Pudding, Chocolate Caramel, Vanilla and Brownie Batter.

Isn’t there enough chocolate out there? Chocolate has its own category in the candy food chain and there’s no need to crossover. C’mon-who wants to eat a Brownie Batter Skittle? Ewwwww

But you know I’ll be the first to get excited when I see these at my local drug store or the Walmart because I’m a sucker for new products and packaging. You could change the color of toilet paper and I’d buy it–wait…don’t they already have colored toilet paper? If it’s a trusted product and they make a limited edition or improve it then I’m hooked. After all, I bought Chocolate flavored Honey Combs cereal and ended up feeding it to the birds in our backyard.

I am not a chocoholic and very, very rarely crave chocolate. I like candy sticky, sweet, tart and gooey. Chocolate is only appealing when it’s wrapped around caramel. The candy industry has to simply got to stop doing this stuff. It’s not natural.

Speaking of not natural, I’m off to take a bite out of the much sought after Limited Edition Pop Rocks Chocolate bar recently bought at the local Blockbuster video. I simply cannot help myself. Damn those clever candy marketers.
Leave a Reply

