Blood Diamond

Set against the backdrop of civil war and chaos in 1990’s Sierra Leone, Blood Diamond is the story of Danny Archer (Leonardo DiCaprio) – an ex Mercenary from Zimbabwe – and Solomon Vandy (Djimon Hounsou) – a Mende fisherman. Both men are African, but their histories as different as any can be, until their fates become joined in a common quest to recover a rare pink diamond that can transform their lives. While in prison for smuggling, Archer learns that Solomon – who was taken from his family and forced to work in the diamond fields – has found and hidden the extraordinary rough stone. With the help of Maddy Bowen (Jennifer Connelly), an American journalist whose idealism is tempered by a deepening connection with Archer, the two men embark on a trek through rebel territory, a journey that could save Solomon’s family and give Archer the second chance he thought he would never have. ( Written by Production )*********************************************************************************This was an amazing movie for me to watch. I had a really tough week at work sitting in 8-hour a day training classes on mind-numbingly dull topics for five days straight and all I could think about after watching this movie was for me to stop by bitching because my life is a cake walk compared to what others are suffering around the world past and present.Here I am sitting in a class room really hating my life and then I think about this character Solomon in the movie who has lost his family and is forced into slave labor mining for diamonds. He has nothing except a diamond that he knows is valuable, but never more valuable than getting his family back together.There are so many disturbing scenes in the movie. Children being brain-washed and trained to become murderers, people being shot mercilessly to further the cause of conflict diamond trade and a journalist who is trying to be one person making a difference.I loved this movie. Leonardo DiCaprio amazes me with his talent more and more in every movie that I see him in. He does such a great job with dialect which certainly adds to the experience of watching any character he portrays. Djimon Hounsou was thrilling as the father Solomon Vandy. There was one particular scene in the movie that sent chills down my spine watching the emotions play across his face when he confronts the man that has taken his beloved only son and forced him to become a killer.Most importantly, this movie touched me and made me realize that no matter how much I might sometimes think my life isn’t going the way it should, I still have family, a good job and a home that no one will take away from me. I am fortunate that I was born in the United States and never had to know first-hand what it’s like to live in a war-torn country. I know that sounds really lame and corny, but that’s what I love about movies like Blood Diamond. A movie that’s as well done as this one is should make you sit back and reflect on what you have to be fortunate about.
Leave a Reply

