My Left Foot

I had my second Austin Bunionectomy done on Friday, March 9th at 7:30am at Framingham Metro west Hospital. Overall, everything went very well aside from one small hiccup: I woke up during the surgery and could hear the saw. I asked the anesthesiologist to “…give me more juice” and away I went. Good thing I couldn’t feel anything because the sound just about freaked me out. (Also a good thing that this was my last foot surgery because I don’t think I could have gone through this again knowing what a saw hitting my bone actually sounds like!)

Unlike the first surgery in July 2006, my doctor had to give me a little extra metal. The screw wasn’t holding as firmly as he would have liked so he added a few permanent staples in there for good measure. I don’t know if that’s why it hurt so much post-op, but I felt the pain much earlier than last time. But Percoset is a wonderful medication.

Spencer drove me home and I immediately took my Percoset and went to bed. That’s pretty much all I’ve been doing since Friday. Sleeping and taking drugs. You’re supposed to ice the foot all the time and make sure to elevate it. This has been difficult because I’ve had to sleep on my back. I’m a stomach sleeper and I miss flipping over. But the pills certainly help.

My foot just aches and throbs. I was concerned about my follow-up appointment this morning with Dr. Parlon because something didn’t feel right down there. Being that my foot was all bandaged up, I couldn’t really unwrap it for inspection. However, the good news is all is well. I did have a lot of post-operative bleeding and the foot is very swollen, but nothing out of the ordinary. I go back to his office on March 19th for the suture removal and then a follow up visit in six weeks. I’ll be hobbling around in my bootie for a while, but the worst is over.

I joke about wearing sandals and flip-flops this Summer, but really what I’m looking forward to is being pain free. I’m hoping to become more active after having both bunions removed and being able to walk long distances without the stabbing pain. I couldn’t care less about strapping on high heels. I’m just not that kind of chick.

If you’re interested in seeing what my foot looked like from the first surgery, send me an email at KimPerry@gmail.com and I’ll forward you an invite to my Kodak Easy Share Gallery that contains photos of my right foot after surgery. Also, the link above will show you an animated video of the surgery I just had done. If you know of anyone considering having their bunions removed and have questions–send them my way. I strangely love to talk about the surgery because the whole experience has been very positive and not at all what I would have expected. I think there are a lot of misconceptions out there surrounding having the surgery done and I’d love to dispel the myths based on my first hand experience.

2 thoughts on “My Left Foot

Leave a Reply

