I Scream for Black Licorice Ice Cream!

Licorice. Either you love it or hate it. Fortunately, I LOVE it with a passion. I am a black licorice connoisseur. I am always on the hunt for the latest new product featuring black licorice such as licorice Altoids or the back-from-the-dead Switzer brand. I had heard a rumor from someone that I work with that Cold Stone Creamery had black licorice ice cream, but when I visited their store on Route 9 in Southboro–they didn’t even know what I was talking about. In fact, the girl kind of looked at me funny like I might have suggested mixing cinnamon Listerine in their vanilla ice cream.

But this past Saturday the rumor was proved magnificiently true. I got the chance to try a scoop of black licorice ice cream (one of five new summer flavors in honor of National Ice Cream month) at Cold Stone Creamery. It was delicious and here’s why:

I was expecting vanilla ice cream with bits of black licorice mixed into it because that’s kinda what this ice cream place is known for–mixing in candy to their expensive creamy ice cream to make all sorts of crazy combinations. But their black licorice ice cream is completely smooth with no mix-ins whatsoever. Just a dizzingly fragrant scoop of grey-colored ice cream (or the color of wet cement-whichever is easier to imagine) that melts on your tongue and engulfs your senses in the joy of all things black licorice. I can’t even describe the flavor or do it justice. It’s just really, really good. I’ve never tasted anything like it.

Their menu also offers a combination mix with the black licorce ice cream called Black Tie Affair: Black licorice ice cream with Raspberries, Cherry Pie filling and Whipped Topping. I didn’t even bother to give it a second glance. I would think all those other sweet tastes would crowd out the bouquet of this unique and special flavor.

But I can’t lie to you and act like I’m not intrigued about the potential mix-ins. Personally, I would go old-school Choo Choo Charlie and mix in fresh chewy Good & Plenty. Or imagine what a milk shake would taste like using black licorice ice cream? I could try making that at home since I ended up buying a pint of it, but I doubt it’s going to survive in my freezer long enough to be part of any personal experiments.

Doesn’t matter. Something this good isn’t going to last forever and I know black licorice ice cream is probably just about as appealing to customers as their other new flavor-Wasabi Ginger-so as long as I can enjoy it for the rest of July I’ll be okay. It’s the simple pleasures in life that are the most appealing to me–even if it leaves my breath stinky and my tongue black.

It was worth it!

One thought on “I Scream for Black Licorice Ice Cream!

Leave a Reply

